News and information from our partners

Compassion Award Nominees announced

Nominations for the 2014 Tradition of Compassion Awards are in.

All nominees will be honored March 6 at a special awards ceremony. A total of 20 nominations were received in four categories:

Outstanding volunteers: Les Cochenour, Samantha Irwin, Joyce Johnson, Mike Johnson, Rymmel Lovell, Scott McKay, Liesl Peterson, Barbara Pizzola, Rachel Walker and Marilyn Wong.

Outstanding Philanthropists: Don Benton, Steve Lawrence, Joyce Powell-Morin and Lana Tepfer.

Outstanding Community Service Organizations: HAVEN, Moose Lodge & Women of the Moose, and The Warming Place.

Outstanding Philanthropic Corporations: Griffith Motors, Sawyer’s True Value and The Dalles NAPA Auto Parts.

Winners will be announced at a ticketed event March 6, at the new Fort Dalles Readiness Center on the campus of CGCC in The Dalles. Tickets can be purchased for $15 each by contacting the Health Foundation at 541-296-7275 or by email at Purchase tickets online at


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from The Chronicle and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)